On writing the first draft | Malinda Lo

Most recently, as I was writing the first draft of the sequel to Adaptation, I kept thinking about revision as this kind of shining oasis waiting for me in the future. All I had to do to get there was lay down this track of rough draft. It could have bad sentences and plot holes all over the place. It didn’t matter as long as I laid it down, because I knew that once I had those first draft words, then and only then would I have something to work with.

via On writing the first draft | Malinda Lo.

Leave a Reply

