Serendipity

What I love about writing, what keeps me pushing through the dross, are the moments of inspiration, the subtle mental click of a piece of the puzzle falling into place, that inner shout of “YES!” that nobody else hears.

That warm glow.  That shining moment.  That perfect knot tied into your story.

I had one of those moments this morning, and it was all I could do not to shout “eureka!”  That would have been bad for several reasons, not only for the waking of the small man, but also for the raised eyebrow of the partner.  Instead, I merely smiled in a fatuous, self-satisfied way and continued on with the narrative.

Today’s moment drew together a throw-away comment from the beginning of the book, which turned into the basis of a character motivation that I never knew about, but answers so many questions.

And that explanation is meaningless without context, so you’ll just have to believe me.

I write with an outline, which varies from complicated to simple, depending on how much I know about that particular scene before I write.  This does not in any way preclude serendipity.  For those people who fear that outlines will somehow restrict their creativity, I say, pish-posh, in the strongest way imaginable.  PISH, POSH.

Whether you navigate through your story with a road map, or navigate by what you can see in the headlights (veering and bumping madly, I might add), serendipity happens, and it’s glorious.

That’s all.  There’s no point to this post.  Well, there was, but I think my coffee just ran out.  Maybe that’s the point; don’t write a blog post when you are low on caffeine.

17 thoughts on “Serendipity

  1. I write with an outline, which varies from complicated to simple, depending on how much I know about that particular scene before I write. This does not in any way preclude serendipity. For those people who fear that outlines will somehow restrict their creativity, I say, pish-posh, in the strongest way imaginable. PISH, POSH.

    And how many times have I been saying this? How many times? :D

    I started trying to capture my eureka!moments in the metrics because I got tired of not remembering what they were later when I was writing the author’s notes.

  2. I actually got a voice recorder just for those situations where you have a revelation and don’t have a pen and paper or computer handy.
    A few of those ‘A-ha!’ moments slipped through the cracks for me, but I have about 98% of them safely down on paper.
    ->Also looking forward to the pish posh story :)

  3. I just giggled over your pish posh. And I’d love to read your stuff, too. No need to feel afraid, I’ve inflicted my stuff on the world and the online serial isn’t even edited or revised!

    And I love those “Yes!” moments. They tend to come to me in the shower or in bed.

    • It’s not fear so much as a knowledge of my inability to write how I want to write.

      I hate it when those moments hit just before bed. That’s when you wake up the next day and can’t remember the amazing epiphany. Then you cry.

  4. Fantastic. Serendipity is the most marvellous thing. And don’t characters just have a way of surprising you? Sometimes you just have to sit down without a clue what you’re going to write and let your fingers bash away at the keys and see what happens. Hmm, it’s fantastic; but it’s also just a little bit scary, isn’t it? Like those films about ventriloquists.

  5. Pish, posh! is right. I love those moments. I’ve been planning a bit of my new novel and I had two events my muse threw at me that gaves me shivers. Fun times. :)

  6. Woo! I love it when you get that click and something falls into place! I had some of those last week and I’ve been doing happy dances all week.

  7. You might be being just a tiny, little bit hard on yourself, M.. As soon as I read “PISH. POSH.” in the post above, I said to myself, “I must read this woman’s stuff!”

    Just be sure to let me know the pseudonym.

    • Lol!

      All right, Graham; I promise, once this damn draft is out of the way, to write something with “pish posh” in it, and post it here.*

      *The author takes no responsibility for the inability of the product** to meet any perceived expectations. Said expectations are raised solely at the discretion of the viewer.
      ** The product may have been produced on equipment that has been in contact with wheat, egg and/or nut products.

    • Dear god, I have not yet produced anything I would ever to expose to the public view. Too many lives would be lost.

      If I ever produce something decent, I’ll post it. Somewhere. Under a pseudonym, probably.

Leave a Reply

