Everything I know about writing by John Marsden

Everything I Know About WritingI picked this up from the Library today, because it was on the end shelf. I hadn’t planned on reading any more “how to write” books, but I loved John Marsden’s books as a teen, so I was curious to hear what he had to say.

You can tell from the very first page that John loves language, and you will too, once you have finished this book. He really shows you how language can come alive; how to make it work, how to avoid banality and cliche, how to make your stories sing, and all shown by example.

Very enjoyable read and gives the reader much food for thought.  Worth putting on your shelves.  (And John’s fiction is worth your time if you are looking for a good MG/YA read.)

7 thoughts on “Everything I know about writing by John Marsden

  1. It cracks me up to read this post now after the one I put up yesterday! Good to know it seems to be worth the read, however. Perhaps I’ll see if my library has this book on their shelves. :)

  2. I’ve never heard of him before, but I’m going to the library today so maybe I’ll have to look him up. I’m always a bit wary of “how to write” books. I suppose I’ve read a few too many that didn’t work for me/weren’t written very well.

  3. Oh, now did he write the Day After Tomorrow? I loved that series so much I brought the whole lot! I have read it so many times, mostly as an adult. How cool is that to find his “how to” book.

    • Yep, that’s him! Great books :) It was very cool to discover he’d written a book on writing! Last pubbed 2004, so don’t know how easy it would be to get a copy.

Leave a Reply

