Timely words of wisdom

For those of you struggling to “find the time” to write for the workshop (or anything else), words of wisdom from Anne Lamott.

CC via Leo Reynolds

They look at me bitterly now—they don’t think I understand. But I do—I know how addictive busyness and mania are. But I ask them whether, if their children grow up to become adults who spend this one precious life in a spin of multitasking, stress, and achievement, and then work out four times a week, will they be pleased that their kids also pursued this kind of whirlwind life?

Right on, Anne.  Busy is our choice.  It is not forced upon us by others.  No matter how many times we cry “work!  Children!  Family!”, in the end, we are the ones who choose where to spend our energies.  You can be productive without being busy, but YOU have to choose.

You, and you alone.

Today I got up at 5am, wrote, read blogs, chatted to Cassie, tweeted, fed the family, read to my son, went out, came back, did the washing, cleaned the kitchen, weeded and put the small man to bed.

Now I have at least two hours to myself, and I’m going to spend every second on my story.  Sure, the floors need mopping and there’s dust on the blinds.  But in a year, will I care?  Hell no.

So, what are you going to do today?  And how much of that is really important to you?  Not to your friends or your family or the world in general.  To YOU.

7 thoughts on “Timely words of wisdom

  1. A wonderful reminder to us all. Anne Lamott just says it like it is; doesn’t she?

    Still, I’m amazed at all you accomplished with your little man in tow. Sounds like a beautiful, productive day, though. :)

  2. This is precisely why I am behind, so many voices in my life calling out for my attention. They are all good voices, and so worthy of my time. What to do, what to do!
    One step at a time, no regrets, just keep moving forward. Eventually you catch up. Right? And sometimes you just let those things slip that really weren’t that important after all. (Have I convinced myself?)

  3. I read this somewhere awhile ago ( maybe it was you who pointed it out to me) and it’s such an important message, one that I think will take several read throughs and realizations to full bring into ones life. You can totally be productive without being busy, and I don’t think that is said enough – we all seem to measure our lives by just how much we can cram into any given space of time.
    Definitely a timely reminder.

  4. As you probably already knew, I really needed to hear this. I think it’s going to be the yard stick by which I measure everything I do. When I’m old and dying will I care if I didn’t do it?

  5. Hm. It’s 6:30 am on a Saturday. I’ve been up for an hour. Kitchen is clean, Inbox is cleared. What to do now, before everyone else gets up? Hmm…

    *scurries off to write*

Leave a Reply

