Not so much a summation as an exhalation

Christmas in Perth means many things.  Dry heat, parched gardens, flies, burning sun.  All the spring flowers are dead, but the Nuytsia is in full bloom, lighting up the bush like a candle.  The sky and the ocean are the same heat-faded blue.

The west Australian version of a Christmas tree.

This is the season of endurance.  For the next three months the average temperatures are above 30 degrees Celsius, and the promise of a week or two of temperatures in the low forties.

There are still 11 days left in the year, but I am done with it.  I am finding it difficult to focus on anything.  I just want to stop, spend time with the family, clear the cobwebs of the year from my head and start fresh.

I have plenty of plans for the new year, and they start on January 1, 2011.  So I’m closing the blog down for the rest of the year.

Best wishes to you all.  Have a great holiday, whatever and however you celebrate. I will see you again, bright and fresh, when the year turns over in its bed.

Happy holidays!

9 thoughts on “Not so much a summation as an exhalation

  1. Man, I think we’re all feeling a little done with 2010, haha. Hope your next eleven days are full of peace and rest, and that come January 1, you’ll feel refreshed and ready to go again! :) Merry Christmas!

  2. I lived in Perth many years ago, and I remember the brilliant yellow flowers on the Nuytsia tree like it was yesterday. Absolutely gorgeous.

    Look forward to seeing you back again next year. All the best.

    Merry Christmas, Merrilee!

  3. There are still 11 days left in the year, but I am done with it. I am finding it difficult to focus on anything. I just want to stop, spend time with the family, clear the cobwebs of the year from my head and start fresh.

    Boy you hit how I’m feeling exactly. Only problem is I haven’t been motivated to make my plans for next year yet.

    Enjoy the holidays!

  4. Happy holidays to you too! I hope you have a peaceful and restorative break.

    Thanks for the photo – I really miss those trees and the contrast the flowers make against the summer sky! Next year, next year …

    Camilla
    :)

Leave a Reply

