Reader feedback 2010

Dear blog reader,

It’s the end of the year, and I would like to ask you some questions about your experience here at my blog in 2010.  This will help me to choose a direction and focus for the new year.  Please be honest, and feel free to leave further comments on what worked and what didn’t work for you this year.

And finally, a couple of questions.

  1. Do you subscribe to my blog in a reader or by e-mail?
  2. Why did you subscribe?
  3. What keeps you from cancelling your subscription? (Or, why did you cancel your subscription?)
  4. What facet of my posts interests you the most?

Feel free to be honest, I have a tough hide, and I can use this to improve my blog.

Thanks for your time, and have a great new year!

10 thoughts on “Reader feedback 2010

  1. Hi, Merrilee! Okay, I was out of commission over the last few weeks (back injury), but I thought I’d post feedback all the same, just in case it helps — and because I want to say that I really love your blog, so don’t change too much, okay?

    1. Do you subscribe to my blog in a reader or by e-mail? Reader.

    2. Why did you subscribe? Because I like your writing style and your matter-of-fact and useful advice to me as a writer. Because you make me laugh sometimes. Because you introduce me to other writers worth reading. Because you widen my gaze on the writing world in an engaging way. Because you inspire me to get my butt in the chair and keep writing. :)

    3. What keeps you from cancelling your subscription? (Or, why did you cancel your subscription?) I’ve never felt the least inclination to do so. I have canceled a few subscriptions over the years, though, and I can tell you it’s a tough decision and has a lot to do with how the personality behind the blog resonates with me over time. If I’m not “clicking” with a blog author after giving it some time, or if that blog author suddenly deviates into territory that just isn’t holding my interest (or is actively turning me off), then I’ll cancel.

    4. What facet of my posts interests you the most?
    The way you write about your writing journey. Your voice is refreshingly forthright and open, Merrilee. I like being educated by you about some aspect of the writing craft or markets or process. You don’t sound too pedantic, no lecturing, no arrogance — but you are confident and engaging and make me glad I’ve read the piece.

  2. 1. Do you subscribe to my blog in a reader or by e-mail?
    E-mail
    2. Why did you subscribe?
    I kept coming back. You caught my attention with a few great posts so I finally signed up. I honestly don’t read everything but you often get my attention with a great post.
    3. What keeps you from cancelling your subscription? (Or, why did you cancel your subscription?) I don’t cancel because you don’t post everyday. Too many post would cause me to cancel. Besides, it’s easy to ignore/delete an email if the subject of your post doesn’t appeal to me.
    4. What facet of my posts interests you the most?
    I love the general writing posts and writing techniques. I also enjoy hearing about your progress.
    As you probably know, I’m a lurker. I don’t comment often due to lack of time, but I enjoy reading. Thanks for all the great posts.
    BTW: I went in search of Hint Fiction to purchase a couple of weeks ago and they were sold out. That’s good news, right? Now I need to search again to see if they restocked.

  3. I don’t subscribe, simply because I visit the blog every couple of days to check for new posts, and I don’t check my email too often (so by the time I read the notifications, the post would be old news).

    I like the posts about your ramblings and your writing journey – what you’ve been up etc.

  4. 1. Do you subscribe to my blog in a reader or by e-mail? – Google Reader, though during the Creativity Workshop I subscribed by email as well so I could keep up with posts and keep the focus on that activity independently of the blogs I read.

    2. Why did you subscribe? – The perspective you have on writing and creativity is different to my own and always gives me something new to consider. I like the variety of topics you write about and the form of your posts from links to fabulous resources to a full on workshop to stand alone articles about writing.

    3. What keeps you from cancelling your subscription? – You don’t post too frequently that it’s difficult for me to keep up with your posts, they’re not too long or too detailed about the craft of writing and the topics you deal with are relevant to any stage of the writing process.

    4. What facet of my posts interests you the most? – One of the highlights for me was your post on creating ideas. The concept of getting the muse to work for you and produce on a deadline without losing your creativity is a key thing I’m striving for.

    Happy New Year!

  5. 1. Do you subscribe to my blog in a reader or by e-mail?
    I subscribe in Google Reader.
    2. Why did you subscribe?
    Because I enjoy blogs that are intelligent, articulate, and focused on areas I’m interested in.
    3. What keeps you from cancelling your subscription? (Or, why did you cancel your subscription?)
    You keep on delivering the goods.
    4. What facet of my posts interests you the most?
    Mostly it’s the stuff about writing – but I like to hear about how you’re doing and what you’re up to from time to time.

  6. I wasn’t subscribed because I generally check your blog quite regularly, but I am now. :-)

    What keeps me coming back to you is that you have a unique, down-to-earth approach to writing (and life) and often write thought-provoking posts that really resonate with me. I’m sure you already know that you act as great inspiration for other writers because you are methodical, instructive, and yet simultaneously entertaining. Also, I read your blog because you’re cool, even if you do live in a silly timezone.

  7. 1.Do you subscribe to my blog in a reader or by e-mail? Yes :)
    2.Why did you subscribe? ‘Coz I like your posts! :)
    3.What keeps you from cancelling your subscription? (Or, why did you cancel your subscription?) The interesting posts that keep popping up in my mailbox.
    4.What facet of my posts interests you the most? The useful writing advice, seasoned with your personal touches and ramblings!

  8. I subcribe by email. I enjoy your posts, especially the ones about technique and the business of publishing. I am a fellow Western Australian, so I love the pictures above your blog – this Bunbury one is great. I generally find things here that are a diversion from what I am doing, as a break. I also find you very different from my selection of other international blogs about writing. Pretty down to earth. Thank you, and keep it up.

  9. Hi Merrilee,
    In answer to your questions, see the italics below.
    1. Do you subscribe to my blog in a reader or by e-mail? Reader
    2. Why did you subscribe? Because your blog rocks and your posts are always insightful and pertinent. You strike a good balance between talking about writing in general and also sharing your own experiences.
    3. What keeps you from cancelling your subscription? (Or, why did you cancel your subscription?) Because I love this blog (see 2 for details)
    4. What facet of my posts interests you the most? I really like it when you post about specific writing techniques or approaches to writing. I also love when you post links to interesting writing-related resources or posts on other blogs. Often they are links to precisely the things that I really needed right at that moment but hadn’t found for myself. Talk about great timing!

    Thank you so much for a great year. I’m so glad I found your blog and I’m definitely looking forward to more in 2011! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

