Nifty productivity and tracking tool

I found a link on Twitter tonight to 750 Words, a site developed for use with the Morning Pages exercise from The Artist’s Way.  But its functionality also makes it a very handy productivity tool if you want to do some distraction-free writing.

Because 750 words is nothing to sneeze at, it’s also nice to have an easy way to know how many words you have to go. This site of course tracks your word count at all times and lets you know when you’ve passed the blessed 750 mark. And it gives you a nice big screen to write on, automatically scrolls as you write (like a typewriter), and automatically saves your writing as you go.

Simple!  And your writings are completely private, though you can share some interesting stats on what you wrote.

I used it tonight to get my daily 100 done and ended up with a good 766 words in 29 minutes.  I’m pretty happy with that, and I will definitely be using the site again.

Sign-up is free, though they do ask nicely for donations.

Oh, and you can also track your writing streaks and get some very cool badges.

3 thoughts on “Nifty productivity and tracking tool

  1. Hmm, that looks like a pretty interesting page. I’m not a pen-and-paper kind of girl at all (I hated writing exams in university for exactly that reason) so I may actually use this. Thanks.

  2. Gosh you’re website has changed sooo much since I last visited. Has it been that long? Sorry.

    I’m not sure that the 750 word website is for me. I love to write with my fountain pen and pad and it costs nothing. Admittedly I sometimes haven’t got the inspiration, time or enthusiasm but then, that’s life.

    Hope your writing is going well.

Leave a Reply

