End of January check in

It’s the end of the month.  My read-through is complete, my spreadsheet has been filled out and I am ready to embark on draft 2.

Here are some stats on my progress so far.

Total scenes in first draft: 69

Total wordcount in first draft: 83,000

Number of scenes that made it to draft 2: 31

Points of view dropped: 1

Subplots discarded: 2

Characters expunged: 11 (!!)

Characters merged: 2

Cliches obliterated: 3

Times I loved the story: very few

Times I bemoaned my decision to be a writer: lots

Times I required alcohol: most of them

Bright moments of hope for my career: one and a half

Cups of coffee consumed: 4 hot, 1 cold

Plotting for my new story is on track, but I think it will be a while before I start writing as I have a lot of new writing to do on the revision piece.  But that’s okay.  I have all year.

How about you?  How did you do?  How are you feeling? Are you even still here?  Post about your progress below, or link to a blog post of your own.

8 thoughts on “End of January check in

  1. I’m way late it checking in but better late than never! At the end of January I had made it 25% into my read through. There were two times when I got all excited about improving the story when new ways to restructure scenes came to me. Mostly I realised that it takes a long time to read a novel…

  2. Stats for my novella (I added word count for draft 2):

    Total scenes in first draft: 18
    Total word count in first draft: 38,500

    Word count in second draft: 30,500

    Number of scenes that made it to second draft: 19
    Points of view dropped: 0
    Subplots discarded: 0
    Characters expunged: 3
    Characters merged: 1
    Clichés obliterated: 0
    Times I loved the story: mostly
    Times I bemoaned my decision to be a writer: never
    Times I required alcohol: bleh
    Bright moments of hope for my career: a few
    Cups of coffee consumed: 0

Leave a Reply

