Where I’ve been, where I’m going and what’s next

I’ve been pretty quiet on the blog, because I’ve been doing a lot of thinking and readjusting and moving and goaling.

That’s not a word, is it?  Oh well, it is now.  Goaling.  Or maybe it would be more accurate to say re-targetting.

Anyway.

Project 2012, for me, was a massive failure.  But in the words of Samuel Beckett, “Go on failing. Go on. Only next time, try to fail better.”

So while this year I didn’t achieve my goals, I will try again next year, and fail better next time.

I also had a long think about why I don’t feel the urge to blog anymore.  Not Enough Words has been my place for a long time, and it sort of evolved into a place for writing advice.  But I’ve moved on from there.  I’m feeling the burden of expectations.

So I’m closing Not Enough Words.  I’ve started a new blog, Pressing Stories, where I have the freedom to talk about other things in my life.  There will still be writing posts there.  Writing is a significant part of my life, and that’s not going to change.  But I’m moving into a new stage of my writing, and now I want to talk more about inspiration, and writing challenges, and networking, and motivation.

So what’s next?  I’m just getting a novella ready to submit and then I am starting a new novel.  Working my way closer to submission and one day, I hope, publication.

Come take this journey with me.

6 thoughts on “Where I’ve been, where I’m going and what’s next

  1. You know I’m following; you can’t get rid of me that easily. :p

    It is such a crazy balancing act. I’ve noticed that my blogging slacks off if the fictional words are really flowing and vice versa. I really admire the writers who can pull off both, while at the same time wondering: am I doing it wrong that I can’t emulate that? At the same time, I’m glad that even my niche blogs weren’t put out there for a platform or at least a platform beyond if I make it public I will feel like I have accountability.

    This just occurred to me, but Project 2012 could use a conclusion. Maybe a checklist of milestones if we were all good and plans never changed for someone to structure their writing plans around? (I am currently lost without checklists and pushing to finish some projects off using them hence my bias.) If it’s not something you want to do, I might be able to cobble something together. I want to, but the TimeNanny is tapping me on the shoulder and reminding me of everything else I’m obligated to.

  2. Whoa! That came out of nowhere! I know what you mean about motivation and blogging. I had to step away from my blog and reading blogs while with my dad in the hospital. I struggled to get back into the routine. Good luck to you!

  3. Wow, that’s really big news. … On the rare occasion that you gave us some life-tidbits, I was always glad to see them. So this is kind of bittersweet news–While I’ll miss this place, I’m certainly looking forward to your new website and more posts from Merrilee!
    In other words, you can bet that I’ll be following you to Pressing Stories.

  4. Nothing like generating a rod for your own back, is there? Smart move – talk about what excites you, litter it with pointers, use your energy in the service of self interest and leave the rest of us to learn from that without realising – we’ll love it :)

Leave a comment